Writing 750 Words Everyday

Mornin__New_Orleans.jpg

I’ve been trying to write in English for a couple of years now. I haven’t been able to do it on a daily or weekly basis. So I’ve been looking for ways to improve.

Why writing?

This is cheesy quote but it struck me the first time I read it. It’s from Jeff Bezos (Amazon, $$$, alien/genius, space traveller). You have to take it out of the business context and apply it to life in general.

“Full sentences are harder to write. They have verbs. The paragraphs have topic sentences. There is no way to write a six-page, narratively structured memo and not have clear thinking.”

Clear thinking. I could use that. Anybody could use that.

Why English?

Friends. Girlfriend. Internet friends. Twitter. Wikipedia. Quora. Traveling. Books. Reddit. Work. Memes. Music… I don’t know. Globalization man.

Why 750 Words?

I found this awesome website: 750words.com. It allows you (and reminds you) to write 750 words everyday. Like they say, it’s “private, unfiltered, spontaneous and daily”. It’s free for a month and then I guess you need to pay a bit.

Capture d’écran 2014-10-28 à 10.50.25.png

They also have monthly challenge where you can sign a virtual contract with yourself. I signed up for the next month.

Capture d’écran 2014-10-28 à 10.39.13.png

Namaste

 
2
Kudos
 
2
Kudos

Now read this

The experience itself matters more

I was sitting in a charming coffee shop in Honolulu earlier today and there was an interesting text on one of the walls. I didn’t have my phone to take pictures so I wrote it down. “Looking at artwork in museums usually makes me... Continue →